I don’t like the shortcuts to the mounted drives placed on the desktop whenever I mount them. I did like them in Lucid but now with Natty I have a Unity Launcher which gives me access to the mounted drives. And I also find desktop shortcuts to be very slow in response t0 the mouse clicks.

So I found a way to remove them from my desktop.

Here are the steps to do the same :-

  • Hit Alt+F2 and type “gconf-editor” (without the quotes) and press enter. Unity will give you suggestions once you’ve typed “gconf”. You can select the “gconf-editor” using your mouse.

  • Browse to apps – nautilus – desktop

  • Notice the “volumes_visible” checkbox, just untick it.
  • And its done. Mounted drives won’t be displayed on the desktop.
Leave a Reply

